My parents never told me that was getting a little sister, I remember thinking, with my pea sized, adolescent brain, that my mom was getting fat because she ate to much candy. Then one day they show up with this tiny baby, wrapped in a light pink blanket and telling me ” Aliza this is your new baby sister”. I was excited to say the least, I had always wanted a baby sister.

Yeah no, after a week full of the crying and the diapers I was over it. All of a sudden all of my parents free time was spent on her, I didn’t really mind that at first I would just go talk to my grandma, or would go and play with my toys; but that got boring after a while. It was the cliche moment every older sibling goes through when they are no longer the only child, me being the dramatic girl that I was, I came up with the conclusion that I hated my little sister.

One night my parents decided to go out for dinner, so me and my sister had to stay home with my grandma. My grandma and I played board games while my sister took a nap. At one point my grandma left to use the bathroom or something, when she left my sister woke up and started crying, I didn’t really know what to do, so I decided to ignore her and went back to my t.v show, thinking my grandma could handle it when she came back. After a couple of seconds of her crying, I decided to do something about it because I couldn’t hear the t.v over her, I walked over to her crib and looked through the bars  at her, her face was all red and tears were pouring down her face. I reached in through one of the gaps between the bars and took her tiny hand in mine, and just like that she stopped crying, now that look back it was strange that she stopped crying right at that moment. After that I decided that she wasn’t so bad.

Even though my sister makes my life a personal hell, she has been my rock for the past 13 years that she’s been alive for, and I’m honestly glad that I have her.